Frequently Asked Questions
You can find the answers to some of our most common questions below. If your question is not answered, feel free to contact us.
I can’t access a file – what happened to it?
If you can’t access a file – whether you uploaded it yourself or it was shared with you – there are several possible causes:
- - The file violated the terms. The most common example of this is copyright violations. If we receive a DMCA copyright complaint about a file, it will be taken down.
- - The file has been removed. The file owner could have removed the file from their account.
- - The file has expired. On anonymous accounts, files can expire as early as 30 days. For free accounts, files may expire if there is no account activity for an extended period.
- - The file has exceeded the daily download limit. If the daily download limit was reached, you can try to access the file again tomorrow.
What is the maximum file size?
Anonymous and free users have a 250mb file size limit. Premium are allowed files up to 1gb in size, and Premium+ users are allowed files up to 200gb in size (our maximum capacity).
However, despite the limits that we have, other factors may affect your ability to upload a file. Some browsers may limit you to 2GB per file, and if you are uploading a large file, you will need to be sure that you are on a stable internet connection, as uploads can fail with an unstable connection.
What is the storage limit without an account?
You have 250MB of storage space without creating an account. If you create a free account you will receive 2GB space. Need more?
Are there download limits for my files?
Yes. The daily download limits are 5gb for anonymous users, 10gb for free users, 500gb for Premium users, and unlimited downloads for Premium+ users.
Can I resume my download?
If the file is fully uploaded then you can resume downloads. In most modern browsers (Chrome is a good choice), you can pause a download. However, while the file is still being uploaded, this is not supported.
Can I stream audio/video?
Short answer: Yes.
The longer answer is that if the file is fully uploaded, then it always works. If the file is not, it depends on your player software. Some won't have a problem, but others will.
Can others find my files/are my files searchable?
Short answer: No.
The longer answer is that your files are "semi-private." Every file/folder has a unique sharing link. When you share this link with others, they will able to access that shared file or folder. Anyone who has this link will have the same access. Your files are not, however, indexed by search engines or searchable on ge.tt, except for by you, in your own account.
How can I create folders?
Everything you upload to ge.tt is similar to a folder. If you upload a single file, it will show large, and if you upload several, they will be together in a folder that you can share with a single link. You can also add new files to an existing folder. However, it is not possible to create new folders within folders on ge.tt.
How long will the files I share remain online?
If you have a paid account, your files will remain online forever (or until you cancel your account- then free account rules apply). For free users, your files will remain online unless your account has been inactive for a long period of time (taking downloads and logins by you into account). In such cases, we will email you before anything is removed. For anonymous users, after 30 days, we will begin to delete your files.